Attendee Registration
Interactive Map
Exhibitor List/Search by Category Listing
Travel Maps
Exhibitor Space Request
Exhibitor Personnel Reg
Sponsorship Opportunities
Advertise With Us
Interactive Map
Exhibitor List/Search by Category Listing
Travel Maps
Non-exhibiting Supplier
Pork Congress Media

IPPA Announces 2019 Master Pork Producers, Pork Partners
January 27, 2020
Clive, Iowa

At the 2020 Iowa Pork Congress, the Iowa Pork Producers Association introduced the 2019 class of Master Pork Producers and Master Pork Partners.

A Master Pork Producer award denotes an individual’s or family’s excellence in pork production, as measured by their pork production statistics, their commitment to We Care® principles,and their contribution to their community. There are six We Care principles that outline a pig farmer’s responsibilities to uphold high standards for animal well-being, food safety, the environment, as well as support of their local community.

IPPA’s 78th class of Master Pork Producers includes eight pig farmers. They are:

• Ben Reck, Winthrop, Buchanan County

• Bruce Edwards and Kerry Edwards, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County

• Andrew Perry, Aurelia, Cherokee County

• Javan and Danielle Kruse, Hartley, Clay and O’Brien Counties

• Ryan Tripp and Brent Tripp, Dows, Franklin County

• Allan Schmidt, Holstein, Ida County

• Nolan Kooiker, Doon, Lyon County

• Bill and Joan Tentinger, Le Mars, Plymouth

County IPPA started the Master Pork Producer Award program in 1942 and has now named 1,492 Iowa pig farmers as Master Pork Producers.

IPPA created the Master Pork Partner Award in 2014 to recognize pork production company employees who have made positive impacts on pork production systems, even though they don’t have active daily roles at a specific production site. There were two categories added to the Partner Awards in 2019 to recognize other important partners in pig production. One of these awards is for veterinary care, the other for transportation.

The 2019 Master Pork Partners are:

• Matt Zitelman, a Pipestone Systems manager near Winthrop, Buchanan County

• Dr. Shamus Brown, DVM at Iowa Select Farms, Indianola, Warrant County

• Ty Rosburg, an independent trucker at Rosburg Livestock, Charter Oak, Crawford County

All award winners are nominated by their peers and neighbors, and represent the diversity of Iowa’s pig farms. This production diversity helps maintain the strength of the industry and enables Iowa producers to compete successfully in the domestic and international commodity and niche markets.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association and Iowa State University Extension co-sponsor the Master Pork Producer program to demonstrate the character and breadth of Iowa pork production. Nominations for the 2020 Master Pork Program awards will open in May.


Editor’s note: Photos and more details about individual winners are available by request.

About the Iowa Pork Producers Association The mission of the Iowa Pork Producers Association is promoting, educating and providing a leading voice for a sustainable, socially responsible, and globally competitive pork industry.

Dal Grooms
Communications Director
Iowa Pork Producers Association
PO Box 71009
Clive, Iowa 50325-0009
(515) 225-7675
(800) 372-7675

For exhibitor information, contact Doug Fricke
via email at or call (515) 225-7675.

For information on seminars,
contact Jamee Eggers via email at or call (515) 225-7675.

Exhibitors | Attendees | Seminars & Events | Media | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | General Refund and Exchange Policy | Home
Iowa Pork Producers Website
© 2020 Iowa Pork Producers Association. All rights reserved.