Attendee Registration
Standard Map
Interactive Map
Exhibitor List/Search by Category Listing
Travel Maps
Non-exhibiting Supplier
Exhibitor Contract
Exhibitor Personnel Reg
Sponsorship Opportunities
Advertise With Us
Standard Map
Interactive Map
Exhibitor List/Search by Category Listing
Travel Maps
Pork Congress Media

2016 Master Pork Producers, Master Pork Partners announced
January 26, 2017

(CLIVE, Iowa) - The Iowa Pork Producers Association has selected a new class of Master Pork Producers and Master Pork Partners.

A dozen producers and pork production company employees were honored at the 45th annual Iowa Pork Congress Banquet in Des Moines last night. 

IPPA's 75th class of Master Pork Producers features nine Iowa hog farmers who were selected and recognized by their peers for excellence in pork production. A slide show highlighting each new Master Pork Producer's operation was shown and the coveted brass belt buckle, emblematic of the award, and a certificate of achievement were presented to each producer.

The 2016 Master Pork Producers are: 

  • Sean Baragary, Winthrop, Buchanan Co.
  • Joe and Michelle Burgmeier, Lockridge, Jefferson Co.
  • Seth and Jennifer Evans, Lenox, Taylor Co.
  • Cale and Connor Juergensen, Churdan, Greene Co.
  • Marti and Martha Knoblock, Rock Rapids, Lyon Co.
  • Russ and Dianne Reth, Manchester, Delaware Co.
  • Robert and Cheryl Ten Napel, Ireton, Sioux Co.
  • Joe Thoma, LaPorte City, Black Hawk Co.
  • Peter and Cheryl Thome, Osage, Mitchell Co.

The association has now presented 1,465 different Iowa pig farmers with the Master Pork Producer Award since the program's inception in 1942. 

IPPA created the Master Pork Partner Award in 2014 to recognize pork production company employees who don't have active daily roles at a specific production site, but have demonstrated positive impacts in their production systems and a commitment to the pork industry's We Care ethical principles.

The 2016 Master Pork Partners are: 

  • Master Pork Partner - Adriana Hernandez, Ames, Story Co.
  • Master Pork Partner - Dr. Bryan Myers, Independence, Buchanan Co.
  • Master Pork Partner - Doug Matthies, Walnut, Pottawattamie Co.

Nominated by their peers and neighbors, all of the award winners are recognized for their expertise in their segments of the production cycle and understanding of current industry issues, quality assurance, animal identification and well-being, and their production efficiency. 

The Iowa pork industry features considerable diversity and specialization and the 2016 class of Master Pork Producers and Pork Partners is representative of the wide variety of systems in operation today. Production diversity helps maintain the strength of the industry and enables Iowa producers to compete successfully in the domestic and international commodity and niche markets.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association and Iowa State University co-sponsor the Master Pork Producer program to demonstrate the character and breadth of Iowa pork production. 


Download 2016 MPPs

Drew Mogler
Producer Education Director
Iowa Pork Producers Association
PO Box 71009
Clive, Iowa 50325-0009
(515) 225-7675
(800) 372-7675

For exhibitor information, contact Doug Fricke
via email at or call (515) 225-7675.

For information on seminars,
contact Drew Mogler via email at or call (515) 225-7675.

Exhibitors | Attendees | Seminars & Events | Media | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | General Refund and Exchange Policy | Home
Iowa Pork Producers Website
© 2017 Iowa Pork Producers Association. All rights reserved.